Upcoming Concert:

Brahms: A German Requiem

Monday 4 March 2019, 7.30pm at Barbican Hall

Conductor: Mark Forkgen

Brahms: A German Requiem
Richard Strauss: Death and Transfiguration

Brahms wrote the German Requiem, one of the truly great choral masterworks, not as a Mass for the Dead, but to comfort the living. His chosen texts from the Lutheran Bible contrast the transience of human life with the everlasting nature of God and the joy of the world to come.

Richard Strauss was only 25 when he composed his tone poem about an elderly man whose journey through life and struggle with death end in peace as his soul finally achieves perfection.

Read more